Chocolat

Harris, Joanne

£8.99

Vianne Rocher moves to a French village and opens a chocolate boutique at the beginning of Lent! The local priest is outraged and the ensuing controversy escalates into a ‘church not chocolate’ battle.

In stock

Publish Date: 02/03/2000
ISBN: 9780552998482 Category:

Description

Lose yourself in Chocolat – the mesmerising and heart-warming bestseller that celebrates kindness, courage and chocolate. Multi-million copy bestselling author Joanne Harris’s delightful novel set in rural France is perfect for fans of Victoria Hislop, Fiona Valpy, Maggie O’Farrell and Rachel Joyce.

‘A feel-good book of the first order. One to curl up with… Read it’ —
OBSERVER
‘Sensuous and thought-provoking… subtle and brilliant’ — DAILY TELEGRAPH
‘You are transported to another world. It’s perfect escapism.’ — ***** Reader review
‘A wonderful story told by a world-class storyteller.’ — ***** Reader review
‘I became totally immersed in this story. I loved it.’ — ***** Reader review

**************************************************************************************
In the small French village of Lansquenet, nothing much has changed in a hundred years. Then an exotic stranger, Vianne Rocher, blows in on the changing wind with her young daughter, and opens a chocolate boutique directly opposite the church. Soon the villagers cannot keep away, for Vianne can divine their most hidden desires.

But it’s the beginning of Lent, the season of abstinence, and Father Reynaud denounces her as a serious moral danger to his flock. Perhaps even a witch.

If Vianne’s chocolaterie is to survive, it will take kindness, courage and a little bit of magic…

Chocolat is Joanne Harris’s first book about Vianne Rocher, and was turned into the Oscar-nominated film starring Juliette Binoche and Johnny Depp. The story of Vianne and her daughters continues in The Lollipop Shoes, Peaches for Monsieur le Curé, and The Strawberry Thief.

Additional information

Weight 262 g
Dimensions 198 × 127 × 23 mm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

319

Language

English

Edition
Dewey

823.914 (edition:22)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K