Daughters-in-Law

Trollope, Joanna

£9.99

Rachel has always loved being at the centre of her large family. She has fiercely devoted herself to her three sons all their lives, and continues to do so even now they are all grown up. They are, of course, devoted to her also. But when Luke, her youngest, gets married, Rachel finds that control is slipping away.

In stock

Publish Date: 05/01/2012

Description

Can a mother ever hand over her son to another woman?

In this emotional and thought-provoking novel, multi-million copy bestselling author Joanna Trollope expertly weaves a study of familial relationships with a lightness of tone and real sense of compassion. Fans of Elizabeth Noble, Erica James and Amanda Prowse will love it!

‘Trollope writes about family life with wit, intelligence and verve’
– Guardian
‘Wonderfully observed and readable’ – THE TIMES
‘Infallibly elegant…Look more closely and something as grim as Greek tragedy is played out around the cosy family dining table’ – Daily Telegraph

‘I found it hard to put this book down’ — ***** Reader review
‘A brilliant book’ — ***** Reader review
‘Always an enjoyable read – Joanna Trollope is the mistress of family emotions’ — ***** Reader review
‘I read it last week and have started to re-read it immediately.’ — ***** Reader review

**************************************************************************************

DAUGHTERS-IN-LAW : THE NUMBER ONE BESTSELLER

When you’ve dedicated your life to your children, what happens when they grow up?

Rachel loves being at the centre of her large family. She has devoted herself fiercely to bringing up her three sons, but at their childhood home on the wide, bird-haunted coast of Suffolk, Rachel finds that her control begins to slip away. Other women – her daughters-in-law – are usurping her position. They have become more important to her boys than she is.

A crisis brings these subtle rifts to the surface.

Can there be a way forward, if they are to survive as a family?

Additional information

Weight 294 g
Dimensions 198 × 127 × 27 mm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

429

Language

English

Edition

1st paperback ed

Dewey

823.914 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K