Madam, Will You Talk?

Stewart, Mary

£8.99

Charity had been looking forward to her driving holiday through France with her friend Louise – long, leisurely days under the hot sun, enjoying the beauty of the Provencal landscape. But very soon her dreams turn into a nightmare, as Charity becomes enmeshed in the schemes of a gang of murderers.

In stock

SKU: 9781444711202 Category: Tags: ,

Description

The original queen of the page-turner Mary Stewart leads her readers on a thrilling journey through a dangerous and deadly Provence in this tale perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym.

‘Mary Stewart is magic’ New York Times

One of the great British storytellers of the 20th centuryIndependent

‘The terrible thirsty heat of the Provençal summer, the noise of the cicadas, the dust of the country buses . . . an excellent tale of mysteryThe Times

It sounds idyllic: a leisurely drive through the sun-drenched landscape of Provence. But Charity’s dream holiday turns into a nightmare when she becomes embroiled in a sinister plot to kidnap a young boy. She soon finds herself in a deadly pursuit and must uncover who to trust . . . and who to fall for.

Whenever I look back now on the strange and terrifying events of that holiday in Southern France, I remember the minutes I spent gazing at the golden arches of the Roman aqueduct over the Gardon… the last brief lull before the thunder.

‘A comfortable chair and a Mary Stewart: total heaven. I’d rather read her than most other authors.’ Harriet Evans

‘She built the bridge between classic literature and modern popular fiction. She did it first and she did it best.’ Herald

Additional information

Weight 240 g
Dimensions 196 × 128 × 24 mm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

292

Language

English

Edition
Dewey

823.914 (edition:22)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K