Shadow Of The Pomegranate

Plaidy, Jean

£8.99

Katharine of Aragon’s marriage to her beloved King Henry VIII is under threat. This is the third of Jean Plaidy’s Tudor novels, continuing the story of Katharine of Aragon’s failing marriage to the adulterous Henry VIII.

In stock

Publish Date: 02/02/2006

Description

A deliciously atmospheric, moving and evocative historical novel from multi-million copy and international bestselling author Jean Plaidy – perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory.

‘Plaidy excels at blending history with romance and drama’ —
New York Times
‘Full-blooded, dramatic, exciting’ – Observer
‘Easy to read and hard to put down’ — ***** Reader review
‘A compulsive, enjoyable and interesting read’ — ***** Reader review
‘If you like history, and/or historical fiction, Jean Plaidy is the one for you. She has a knack for pulling you right into the story straight away’ — ***** Reader review

*****************************************************

The young King Henry VIII spends his time basking in the pageants and games of his glittering court – all the while, his doting queen’s health and fortunes fade. Henry’s affection for his older wife soon strays, and the neglected Katherine decides to use her power as Queen to dangerous foreign advantage.

Overseas battles play on Henry’s volatile temper, and his defeat in France has changed the good-natured boy Katherine loved into an infamously callous ruler.

With no legitimate heir yet born, Katherine once again begins to fear for her future…

The Tudor saga continues in The King’s Secret Matter.

Additional information

Weight 224 g
Dimensions 198 × 129 × 20 mm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

305

Language

English

Edition
Dewey

823.912 (edition:22)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K