Silver Pigs

Davis, Lindsey

£9.99

This is the first story in a mystery series set in Ancient Rome, featuring Marcus Didius Falco. The story sees Falco travelling to Britain in search of missing silver pigs where he meets Helena Justina, and romance begins to blossom.

In stock

Publish Date: 07/02/2008
ISBN: 9780099515050 Category: Tag:

Description

Fans of S. J. Parris, Donna Leon, Steven Saylor and C. J. Sansom will absolutely love this gripping page-turner of a historical mystery from multi-million copy bestselling author Lindsey Davis. Full of twists, turns and tension – you’ll be hooked from page one…

‘Her research has been assiduous and detailed, her commitment to the subject is impressive, and the background detail is often eye-opening’ — Hilary Mantel, Observer
‘One of the best writers in this field’ — Donna Leon, The Times
‘Surely the best historical detective in the business’ — Daily Telegraph
‘Every book in this series is a delight … highly recommended’ — Library Journal
‘Be careful, if you get the taste for this you’ll end up reading them all… I can think of worse ways to pass the time’ — ***** Reader review
‘This series is just SO addictive!’ — ***** Reader review
‘I just could not put it down’ — ***** Reader review
‘Engrossing’ — ***** Reader review

********************************************************************************
A NEW EMPEROR SEEKS AN EXPERIENCED AGENT

Marcus Didius Falco is a private informer, the closest thing that first-century Rome has to a detective.

A new emperor, Vespasian, has ascended to power. The tides of money and power are in flux, and Rome’s vicious games swirl more ferociously than ever.

When Falco rescues a young girl in trouble, he catapults himself into a dangerous game involving stolen imperial ingots, a dark political plot and, most hazardous of all, a senator’s daughter connected to the traitors Falco has sworn to expose.

The rule of law is tenuous for ordinary citizens of Rome. Only a man with a mind as sharp as a gladius can prevail.

Additional information

Weight 245 g
Dimensions 198 × 129 × 21 mm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

318

Language

English

Edition

Reprint

Dewey

823.914 (edition:22)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K