Wainwrights Walking Far Eastern Fells

Wainwright, Alfred


Book 2 of a new set of Walkers Editions of Alfred Wainwright’s  Pictorial Guides to the Lakeland Fells, fully updated and checked by Clive Hutchby.

In stock

Publish Date: 08/10/2015
ISBN: 9780711236554 Category: Tag:


One name above all others has become associated with walking in the Lake District: Alfred Wainwright, whose seven-volume Pictorial Guide to the Lakeland Fells, first published in 1955- 66, has become the definitive guidebook. 

Wainwright’ s meticulously hand-drawn maps, diagrams and drawings take walkers up the 214 principal hills and mountains of the Lake District, describing the main routes of ascent from different starting points, as well as lesser-known variants, showing the summit viewpoint panoramas and the ridge routes that can be made to create longer walks. Every page combines words and illustrations to present the routes in a way that is original, visually appealing and easy to follow.

This new edition of Wainwright’ s Walking Guide to the Lake District Fells has been comprehensively revised. Paths, maps, diagrams and route descriptions have been checked and corrected throughout. These revisions have been undertaken by writer and designer Clive Hutchby, author of The Wainwright Companion.

The Far Eastern Fells, Book Two of Wainwright’ s Walking Guide, covers the entire area east of Kirkstone Pass, bordered by Ullswater in the north and Windermere in the south, and includes the ascents of  High Street, Ill Bell, Place Fell and Wansfell.

Additional information

Weight 264 g
Dimensions 178 × 110 × 18 mm








Walkers edition


796.51094278 (edition:23)


General – Trade / Code: K